top of page

Netflix Accidentally Posts New Anti-Password Sharing Guidelines

  • Writer: Kyle Chua
    Kyle Chua
  • Feb 3, 2023
  • 2 min read

Netflix might soon charge you an extra fee if it detects someone outside of your household is using your account for extended periods of time.

Credit: Reuters

The streaming giant accidentally posted the new anti-password sharing guidelines across the help centre pages of different markets, including the U.S. on Wednesday, 1 February, as TechCrunch reports. The pages have since been updated as the guidelines aren't applicable to users outside of Chile, Peru and Costa Rica, where the paid sharing feature is being tested.


The in-trial feature allows you to pay for an extra person, who would access and use your account outside of the registered primary location, which is essentially your home. You'll be required to register your location via your TV that you need to connect to your Wi-Fi and account. All devices that connect to the same network would be associated with your primary location, and thus can use Netflix.


However, if you don't have a TV, Netflix would automatically set your primary location based on your IP address, device IDs and activity.


Once your location is registered, those living with you who'll use your account on separate devices must launch the app at home at least once every 31 days.

Credit: Unsplash

Also worth noting is that if you don't use Netflix on your devices at home, they likely won't be associated with your primary location. You have to ask the main account holder to verify the device for you through a code that Netflix sends. Once you're verified, you can freely access the app outside of your home for seven days without getting any prompts. As of writing, however, it's still unclear if you can ask for temporary codes multiple times in a row, and if so, how many times.


Netflix noted that it has yet to finalise how paid sharing would work in other markets, though the guidelines do provide a good idea of what you can expect. The company plans a wider roll out for paid sharing in the U.S. within Q1 2023.

  • Netflix accidentally posted the new anti-password sharing guidelines across the help centre pages of different markets.

  • The streaming giant is testing paid sharing, a feature allows you to pay for an extra person, who would access and use your account outside of a registered primary location, in Chile, Peru and Costa Rica.

  • You'll be required to register your location via your TV that you need to connect to your Wi-Fi and account.

  • Once your location is registered, those living with you who'll use your account on separate devices must launch the app at home at least once every 31 days.

Technology increasingly permeates every facet of our lives, making informed decision making an essential pursuit. We bridge this gap by combining the precision of AI with the irreplaceable discernment of human expertise. Our team produces rigorous product reviews that offer unique insights, honest critiques, and trustworthy recommendations. We also leverage AI to synthesise complex news from reliable sources into clear, actionable updates, ensuring that every story is carefully fact checked by our editorial staff before publication. Accuracy remains our priority. Should you identify any discrepancies, please contact us at editorial@tech360.tv. Your feedback is a vital part of our process in maintaining the high standards our readers deserve.

Tech360tv is Singapore's Tech News and Gadget Reviews platform. Join us for our in depth PC reviews, Smartphone reviews, Audio reviews, Camera reviews and other gadget reviews.

  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • TikTok
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

© 2021 tech360.tv. All rights reserved.

bottom of page